University: Round 3

My brief for Competition 1 was Heritage by Design. The brief was to create a new way for people to discover heritage. The outcome would be a website and app for when you’re out an about to discover what’s to see in different areas of the UK and the world, and to help document what you learnt in these places.

So, our first project has been handed in and we are halfway through our second. These ones are competition briefs so we had to choose them ourselves, which to start with is super hard for an indecisive person like me!

My brief for Competition 1 was Heritage by Design. The brief was to create a new way for people to discover heritage. The outcome would be a website and app for when you’re out an about to discover what’s to see in different areas of the UK and the world, and to help document what you learnt in these places.

my-heritage-trail-home

The Explore page lets users search and scroll left and right through places in an area.
When the user clicks on a building or place, the other buildings slide off the screen and the page below is introduced. Here they can see the stats in more detail and read peoples comments by simply clicking on that box, to make it expand.
specific-place
The Map page enables users to enter in a postcode, address or place name to find places near to visit. The user will be able to zoom in and out, and drag to different points to view other places on the map.

my-heritage-trail-map

My Visits captures every place you’ve logged, including the date you visited, whether you have liked the place, and any comments you’ve written.
You can scroll through all of these to the left or right just like the Explore page.

my-heritage-trail-your-visits-2 my-heritage-trail-your-visits

At the left you will be able to click to change between People and Places to continue into geneology to discover about family history.

There were a few things that were said that I need to change, it needs more of a call to action and I need to create more of a reason for people to download the app/visit the website. They seemed to like the look of it, which is great, I tried to create a cityscape inside the app and make it super visual and I think that came through.

I would really like to make it – and also create a parallel site that helps you discover your family history. It would aim to be in the same format, perhaps photo frames or something that you can scroll left and right through. That’s for another time though!

My mark was 60, which I’m fairly happy with for the first project, but definitely want to improve on.

Author: laurakeabs

I'm a Graphic Communications Graduate @ from University of South Wales. Also a student teaching assistant, support worker for children and young people with additional needs and a graphic design junior. The rest of my time is spent crafting! Nice to meet you! :) Check out my Behance @ https://www.behance.net/laurakeabs Or follow me on Instagram: laurakeabs Take a look at my previous blog, everything from my foundation course up till the start of 2014: www.laurakeable.blogspot.com

2 thoughts on “University: Round 3”

Leave a Reply

