Final Major: Helping Autistic Children and Adults Transition to New Places

The real deal, this is it – my last go at being a pretend designer!

Genuinely my favourite project of the whole lot, I really got stuck into this one.

It was a difficult start though, what do I do? I knew I wanted to focus on Autism as a theme but questions ran through my head for days. What should it be? Who is it for? I eventually worked out that I wanted to create a set of resources to help people with autism transition to new places, whether that be to a new stage in school or on to further education, apprenticeships or work.

I created resources like posters/wall charts to put up in the home to fill in. Kept as a reminder to what the child wants – to reduce anxiety with clear steps. I made a parents booklet, an interactive glossary of terms (with Digital Publishing – which I now love) and also a motion poster to give a brief explanation to what autism is. Have a look here. It was my first taster in After Effects!

Autism Transitions

It was really fab to see everyone’s work at the exhibition, and loads of people turned up to see it all. A great achievement for everyone there to see what we can all do.

FMP exhibition

And that’s it.. Uni was over just like that.

Author: laurakeabs

I'm a Graphic Communications Graduate @ from University of South Wales. Also a student teaching assistant, support worker for children and young people with additional needs and a graphic design junior. The rest of my time is spent crafting! Nice to meet you! :) Check out my Behance @ https://www.behance.net/laurakeabs Or follow me on Instagram: laurakeabs Take a look at my previous blog, everything from my foundation course up till the start of 2014: www.laurakeable.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

